I was born in Treviglio (Italy) in 1984. I earned a Master's degree in Nuclear Engineering at the Milan Polytechnic with an experimental work on magnetic manipulation of Pickering crude oil/water emulsions. In 2009 I moved to the University of Stuttgart where I obtained a PhD in Physics working on self-propelled Janus particles. In 2013 I moved to ETH Zürich where I was awarded an ETH postdoctoral fellowship to study the mechanical response of colloidal monolayers under shear. I was then a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow at the Laboratory for Theoretical and Physical Chemistry in Oxford, working on active colloidal crystals and glasses. Since 2020 I lead the Institute of Experimental Colloidal Physics at Heinrich-Heine University in Duesseldorf.



Self-propelling colloids

See more

From 2017

University of Oxford, Dept. of Chemistry

MSCA Fellow

Oxford Colloid Group

Asymmetric colloids

See more

Colloidal monolayers

See more

2014 - 2017

ETH Zürich, Dept. of Materials

ETH Fellow

Laboratory for Interfaces, Soft Matter and Assembly

2010 - 2013

University of Stuttgart, Dept. of Physics


2. Physikalisches Institut


2007 - 2009

Politecnico di Milano, Dept. of Nuclear Engineering

Master's degree

Optical Tweezers

See more

Stochastic Thermodynamics

Coming soon

2003 - 2007

Politecnico di Milano, Dept. of Energy Engineering

Bachelor's degree

2010 - 2013

Active Brownian particles tunable by light

Marie Curie Initial Training Network - ITN Comploids

2014 - 2016

Colloidal monolayers under shear

ETH Zürich Postdoctoral Fellowship - FP7 Seventh Framework Programme

2017 - 2019

MicACol - Microrheology of two-dimensional active colloidal crystals and glasses

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions Individual Fellowship - MSCA H2020

2019 - 2020

Active colloidal glasses

Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) - Advanced Mobility Programme

2015 - 2018

Phoretic micro-swimmers at liquid-liquid interfaces: a new route towards active materials

ETH Research Grant - in collaboration with Prof. Dr. Lucio Isa

From 2020

Heinrich-Heine University, Dept. of Physics

Group leader